Dancing

I love dancing. That doesn’t mean I’m a good dancer, but I do love to dance. 

When I was a little girl, like most little girls, I loved ballet; my lifetime goal at six years old was to be Clara in the Nutcracker. (Just in case you were wondering, I never made it that far….but I did get to see my best friend living my dream and I lived it vicariously through her which is the next best thing right?) 

Although I stopped dancing when I was young, my love for it has stretched through the years. Now, I just love turning on some good music with good rhythm to it and having all my friends close to me and just moving to the music. No one looks good, we all look like a bunch of nerdy, white people who have no idea how to dance….but damn it, we’re having the best time of our lives! 

One of my favorite dance party memories was at a birthday party for some friends: on top of doing “improv” which turned out to be freaking hilarious…we all ended up outside, by someone’s mom’s mini van, ipod plugged in, music blaring and dancing. It was unplanned and the most amazing dance party of my life. We all ended up inside an hour or two later out of breath, face red and laughing. 

And at my sister-in-law’s wedding rehearsal dinner; all the best songs were playing: Short Skirt, Long Jacket by Cake, Werewolves of London, Cray Button by Family Force Five….it was amazing. We were all dancing in a circle, shouting the lyrics, acting like a bunch of fools and it was amazing. 

I love dancing. I love that feeling of the perfect song. Not caring what you look like or who’s watching…just moving to the music and having a good time with friends. 

I think people should have more dance parties and not be afraid to look stupid while doing it. 

Dancing is indeed an art, and I respect and envy those who are incredibly good at it……but at the same time, dancing is also an individual expression of one’s response to music. Why should you suppress that?

All in favor of an awesome, all night long, dance party…raise your hands! (I know you want to…) 

Standard

Leave a Reply

