9/11

Perhaps this is a bit macabre or maybe even a bit over done, but I had a few things on my mind about 9/11 and wanted to share them here. (And yes, I’m a day late…)

First off, it’s been freaking 13 years….how did that happen? I went to New York last year with my husband’s family, and before leaving, I met up with some friends of mine who happen to be in their pre-teen years right now. They were telling me where I needed to go and what I needed to see while I was there and one of the girls mentioned the 9/11 memorial. So obviously, I start talking about where I was on that day and what I felt and then I asked, “Do you remember where you were?”

The blank look on their faces made me feel so old. I was met with responses like “I was too young to remember.” “I didn’t know what was happening, I just knew everyone was scared.” It was a little weird to think that there are young kids alive who were too little to remember what happened that day.

I was 11 years old, me and my sisters were slacking off on doing our school that morning because mom was distracted on the phone. So we’re all goofing off in our rooms and laughing and mom pops her head in the door. She’s obviously super stressed about something as she motions for us to get to work on our school. Obediently, we shuffle out of the room to get our school books; mom has the news on and I watch the tv while I’m getting my books and I see something that I’ve never seen before. A building that is gushing smoke out of the top half.

Trance-like, I sit down on the couch and watch what happens. I don’t know how it happened, but eventually, mom and my sisters and me are crowded around the tv watching events unfold. Mom is on and off the phone the whole time.

The sick feeling of seeing that second plane crash into the tower is one I will never forget. Even more so, watching the towers crumble. I didn’t quite understand the gravity of what was happening but I knew it was bad.

When I finally got to visit the memorial last year in May, it was beyond belief. The new tower was almost completed and it was beautiful and the memorial in the place of where one of the towers used to sit was huge and somber. The names of those lost on that day were wrapped around two, giant pools and the amount of people listed was staggering.

Just last night, I was watching videos on YouTube of the crashes and the report of that day. It brought everything back, what happened that day was mind-blowing.

On a second note, while watching reports of that day, I got sucked into the YouTube rabbit hole; and maybe I’ve been living under a rock my whole life, but I ran across a video of a man who believes the whole thing was news scam. A hoax to fool the American people.

I’m sorry to rant, but the disrespect of that idea is a slap in the face to the thousands of people who lost their lives that day. So many people died. At the memorial site, there was listed a woman’s name and next to it read “…and her unborn child.”

It does not do us any good to dwell in the past, but it is good to honor those we lost in a great tragedy that has visited our country.

Don’t forget what we lost that day.

IMG_4858 IMG_4879

Standard

Leave a Reply

