The Night Circus

So there’s this book, and I’ve already written a post about it but you know what, I’m going to write another one!

This book has become a “mascot book” (if you will) for the book club I’m in. Every new member that joins our club is given, at some point or other, exclamations on how much they need to read this book. It’s one of the most beautiful and lovely books I’ve ever read! And it’s become a sort of tradition that every October, our book club–The Tuesday Sisters–HAVE to read this book. We dress in black and white, with just a hint of red, (if you read the book, you’ll get it!) and we snack on fall treats like caramel popcorn, caramel apples, apple cider, etc. It’s an inspiring and lovely night of us ladies sitting in a circle, talking about how magical this book is and how much we wish The Night Circus actually existed!

When the book was released, the cover intrigued me. There’s that saying to never judge a book by its cover…I break that rule all the time! The prettier the cover the better the story has to be, right? But every time I read the description of the book, something held me back. I just wasn’t sure I could get into it, it seemed like it might be a little cheesy, and a horde of other excuses. I always managed to pick the book up when I saw it and then set it back down because I just wasn’t sure.

Then two friends I know who share a lot of the same interests with me told me I HAD to read it. I trust their taste and opinion and they were saying that my life would be changed after reading it. So of course, I went out and bought it the next day and started reading away.

They were right.

I wanted to get to the end but I never wanted it to be over! I wanted the story to go on and on, never before had I wanted to be living in a book as much as I did when reading this one. The story was compelling, the plot was sturdy, the details that the author put into her story mimicked the detail driven work of J.K. Rowling. This book is one of the most visually appealing books I’ve read, colors and music and smells come to life from the pages; there were times I really felt like I was there.

Returning to the real world after this book was the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do.

Seriously, if you need a book that will compel you and draw you in, a book that you can’t set down….read The Night Circus. I promise you that you will be a changed person once you’re done!

Here’s a few sentences from the description to whet your appetite:

“The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Reves, and it is only open at night.” -Erin Morgenstern

Get reading people!

Standard

Leave a Reply

