And Suddenly, Disaster Strikes

So, here’s the deal. Down here in the warm, sunny South, we’ve had a bit of a cold front blow through. Last night the low was 12 degrees and tonight it’s 20 degrees. When we used to live in an apartment, the administrative staff would always put a sign out during freezing weather warning residents to let their faucets drip during the day/night to keep the pipes from bursting.

Being a homeowner, all of a sudden, me and the husband are the administrative staff……..

(Do you see where I’m going with this already?)

Last night, as I began to drift into sleep, a thought drifted across my brain, “Oh crap, I forgot to let the faucets drip…….zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz” And that was it, I was asleep.

 

So let’s cut to this morning. Everything was fine when I got out of bed, no busted pipes, no gushing water, there was plenty of hot water for my shower; I got to skype with my sister and snuggle with my dog and spend a lot of the morning lazing in bed, it was great!

The husband gets home while I’m talking to my sister, he says hello and gives me a hug then goes outside to play with the dog. Since I’d been skyping for two and a half hours, we said our goodbyes and then I went outside to talk and hang out with the hubby.

I go outside to see the dog playing in the water gushing out of our outside faucet and the husband frantically rummaging around in the shed.

 

It happened. The pipe burst.

 

Instantly, I’m in crisis mode. Standing there in 30 degree weather, in an over-sized green t-shirt and Pepe Le Pew pajama pants, with a blanket draped across my shoulders, I shout, “What can I do? Do you need help?”

 

Well, to summarize, we turned off the water so that we wouldn’t have a flood in our backyard and then trudged out to get dinner out and then to Lowe’s for all the supplies we’d need. After arriving home, we had to get under the crawlspace–side note, although I’d never been in a crawlspace before this night, I used to be terrified of them as a kid. I finally got to see what it looked like and it wasn’t that scary!–and find where the leak was and then see if we could fix it.

The husband was unable to fix the pipe tonight and after calling a few different plumbers, discovered that it was just going to be cheaper to fix it ourselves. Since all the stores were closed, we’ll have to wait till tomorrow to make repairs.

 

So tomorrow will find me coming up with creative ways to use gallon jugs of water instead of running water until the husband comes home and rescues me from my plight. I feel so badass, roughing it out like this! Just kidding, I’m a pansy who is used to modern luxuries. Wish me luck tomorrow!

Standard

Leave a Reply

