Overwhelmed…But In A Good Way

I remember as a bride someone once told me, “Try to remember your five senses on your big day. Remember a sight, sound, smell, taste and touch from that day.”

But as the years have gone by, I’ve realized that’s a good strategy for big moments in your life. It makes you slow down and really savor those moments, to take in little snapshots from big moments that stick in your brain for a long time afterwards.

 

I have a beautiful baby boy now, and his birth into this world is still something that’s overwhelming and amazing to look back on. I’ll spare you all of the gory details and monotonous play-by-play of how things went down. ¬†Instead, I’ll let you in on the snapshots I took in my mind of that crazy, wild day!

 

Sight: That last push and the doctor holding him up so I could see him. My husband’s face as he came to my side whispering, “Baby, he’s here!”

Sound: The nurses shouting at me to breathe through the pain, to not scream when I pushed. My mom, sister and husband encouraging me through it. His cry as he entered the world with a tenacity to conquer it!

Smell: The saline smell in my nose when they set my i.v. to drip faster. When the nurse laid my son on my chest, I smelled the top of his head and he smelled like popcorn. I’m not joking! My son smelled like a bag of hot, buttery, freshly popped popcorn. It was hilarious!

Taste: The sandwich that my husband bought for me after I delivered and how we sat in my room eating and staring at our baby. Dark, chocolate, covered almonds that my mom brought for me to binge on in the hospital.

Touch: The hands of my mom, sister and husband that I squeezed when I was in pain. Their hands that rubbed my back as I labored. The pain. The intensity of it has somewhat dulled since that day, but I still remember screaming in a haze of pitocin (the labor-inducing drug from hell!), I remember the exhaustion from the pain. I remember it all. But this boy made it so worth it.

 

Since then we have been surrounded by family and friends who are quick to give help and advice and lots of love. The first weekend home from the hospital was really hard and there were some sad moments. And I’ve had meltdowns but I’m trying to tackle motherhood with calmness, serenity and peace. All things happen for a reason, I absolutely believe that and with that mindset it’s easier to make it through all the day throws at me.

 

So hello again blogging world, it’s good to see you again. I send you all my love!

 

Standard

3 thoughts on “Overwhelmed…But In A Good Way

  1. My first was all red and wrinkled. My wife and I cried. No popcorn. Smells? The red roses I brought. Chocolate? Malted milk shake. Touching and hugging. Did I get all five right? Hmm? That was fifty years ago!

Leave a Reply

