25

“I don’t know about you, but I’m turning 25…..”

That’s not how the song goes does it?

So I just turned 25. (actually it was a few weeks ago, but whatever…) I’m a quarter of a century, how did that happen?

When I was a child I remember thinking that being 20 years old was incredibly ancient; and that when I turned 20 I’d be a for real grown up. At 25, I don’t feel that far removed from that kid and I definitely do not feel grown up! If anything, I feel like a 10 year old in a 25 year old’s body.

But although I don’t feel grown up, I do feel like I’ve gained experience; maybe that’s what made grownups seem grown up when I was younger–their experience.

It’s kind of funny to look back on your naive self; the one that thought life would be easier or that grown ups knew everything. It’s funny to look back on what you thought your life would look like and how it actually turned out.

I didn’t know what life would be like at 25 but I’m beyond grateful for where I am.

So here’s to one quarter of my life behind me and the rest of it ahead of me–I’m ready to tackle all the adventures that await me!

Standard

Leave a Reply

