Last Weekend

I’m coming off a high and if I don’t write about it now the moments will lose their potency.

My family came to visit me last weekend and it was so wonderful. I was able to participate in a way I wasn’t while they were here for his birth.

It was a Friday night and as soon as they walked in the door they made a beeline for my son’s room to watch him sleep–which turned into him waking up to coos and kisses from all four of them.

There was lots of baby snuggles and lots of laughter. Late night trips to Wal-Mart and binging on the junkiest of junk foods. Belated birthday presents. Dancing to Bob Marley at breakfast. Hair cutting and coloring hair unicorn colors. Bonfires, smores and guitar playing; interperative dancing and stupid made up songs. Wheel barrow races, piggy back races, cartwheels and headstands. Amazing spaghetti and tipsy laughter. Watching/making fun of the movie Twilight and laughing until our ribs were sore and the glorious moment when the baby slept through it all!

When they left on Monday all I knew was that it wasn’t long enough and distance is a heartless bitch.

Watching my son interact with his Pepere, Birdy, Aunt Douglas and Ayou was such a wonderful experience; one that I hope to witness more and more through the years.

So until next time family; no one knows how to do family quite like you guys.

Standard

Leave a Reply

